A few thoughts about dragons

I like to post something on my blogs at Christmas, but I was scratching my head a little for something to write.  A Crown of Dragons, the third of the UFiles, is written and the series has all been put to bed – though the book hasn’t appeared anywhere in the world yet (May in the USA; June in the UK).  I wanted to put up an extract, but it’s still a month or two early for that.  So instead, I thought the text below might be apt.  It’s the note that appears at the very end of the book.  It doesn’t tell you anything about the story, but it might give you food for thought.  Have a happy Christmas everyone.  More in the New Year.

AUTHOR’S NOTE from A Crown of Dragons

This has been quite a journey. A journey into the unknown.  I’ve made no secret of the fact that The UNICORNE Files were inspired by the TV series, ‘The X-Files’.  I like to think that Fox Mulder, the hero of those programmes, would have been in his element if asked to investigate cases of cellular memory, telekinesis and, in this story, the mysteries of dragons.  Dragons have fascinated me for the past fifteen years, ever since I picked up a clay model one day and introduced it into a book which eventually became known as The Fire Within.  Since that time I’ve been asking myself one important question about dragons – a question that has had some interesting ramifications.  The question is simple enough – well, simple enough to ask: Are dragons real?  My head, of course, says, ‘How can they be real?’  For I was a scientist once (of sorts) and still harbour a little of the mindset that demands to see irrefutable proof before it can accept a belief in the unknown. Apply that mindset to the question above and it rolls out another straightforward query: If dragons had been indigenous to the Earth, if they had lived and died here as dinosaurs did, then where’s the palaeontological evidence for them?  That’s a pretty good stumbling block – for scientists.  But I’m not a scientist now, I’m a writer.  And for writers, such questions are merely the basis of a challenge.  We would point to the emergence of dragon symbology in different cultures as far apart as China, Wales and the Andes and say, How did that come about?  For us, ‘hard’ evidence doesn’t matter.  What we find fascinating is the awe-inspiring wonder these beasts seem to generate in apparently level-headed people in every corner of the world.  It’s a writer’s job to examine the reality question and look for reasons around the lack of bones.  On our cerebral (and sometimes spiritual) digs, we come up with theories.  The one I favour most is this, that dragons were never indigenous to our Earth, but are instead ‘off-worlders’.  Aliens.  Extra-terrestrials.  Visitors.  That last word raises another huge question, one I set out to answer in this book, one that Thomas Malone did ask of me but I decided to leave between the lines of his tragic story.  The question again is pretty simple. If dragons were here, and created such an overwhelming impact among us, why did they ever leave?  Reader, you decide.

This has been The UNICORNE Files.

Enjoy.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

